Skip to main content


Van Oord was established in the mid-19th century. It grew over time by acquiring leading dredging and marine engineering firms. As a family-owned company, Van Oord focuses on future generations and long-term business relationships. We feel at home in every country and make a visible contribution to the world.

Van Oord nv is a public limited company with its registered office in the Netherlands. MerweOord B.V., the Van Oord family’s holding company, owns 78.5% of its shares. The remaining shares are held by Cobepa (Nederland) N.V. (10.75%) and ConsOord B.V. (10.75%).

Executive Board

The Executive Board consists of four members appointed under the company’s articles of association who are jointly responsible for strategy, objectives, policy and the related results.

P. van Oord, Chief Executive Officer
Pieter van Oord (1961) has been a member of the Executive Board since 2007. He was appointed CEO in November 2008.

J. Poots-Bijl RC, Chief Financial Officer
Jolanda Poots-Bijl (1969) has been a member of the Executive Board since 2016.

P.W. Verheul, Chief Operational Officer
Paul Verheul (1961) has been a member of the Executive Board since 2011.

C.A. de Bruijn, member of the Executive Board
Niels de Bruijn (1963) has been a member of the Executive Board since 2013.

Supervisory Board

It is the Supervisory Board’s task to oversee the company’s strategic planning and policy-making and, specifically, to supervise the Executive Board in that context. The Supervisory Board carries out its tasks as agreed in the Van Oord governance model and in accordance with principles of corporate governance.

N.W. Hoek (born 1956), chair
Nationality: Dutch
Background: Member of Board of Management (from 1997) and CEO of Delta Lloyd (2001-2015), Founder of Brandaris Capital
Supervisory directorships: Arcadis (chair) and Anthony Veder Rederijzaken B.V.

K. Damen (born 1944), member
Nationality: Dutch
Background: Chairman of Damen Shipyards Group

Jac.G. van Oord (born 1946), member
Nationality: Dutch
Background: Chairman of the Executive Board of Van Oord N.V. (2003-2008), Chairman of the Management Board of MerweOord B.V.
Supervisory directorships: Van Leeuwen Buizen Groep B.V.

J.M.J.A.P. Laurent Josi (born 1964), member
Nationality: Belgian
Background: Managing Director of Cobepa (Nederland) N.V.
Supervisory directorships: International SOS, JF Hillebrand, Carmeuse and Bank Degroof.

J.M.M. van der Ven (born 1953), member
Nationality: Dutch
Background: Executive Director of MerweOord B.V.
Supervisory directorships: Acta Marine, Rhoon Pendrecht & Cortgene (chair), Vostermans B.V., Witteveen+Bos (chair)

R. Kretzers, member
Nationality: Dutch
Background: Executive Vice President at Shell


Resignations schedule Supervisory Board:

 Year of first appointmentEnd of current term
Jac.G. van Oord 20092021
J.M.J.A.P. Laurent Josi20122020
J.M.M. van der Ven20122020
K. Damen20122020
N.W. Hoek20162020
R. Kretzers20182022


Management Committee

The Management Committee consists of the Executive Board and the Area and Staff Directors. The  purpose of the Management Committee is to support decision-making within the Executive Board with regard to strategic issues.

Area Directors

M. den Broeder, Area Director Offshore
A.F. Kuis, Area Director Offshore Wind
G. van Oord, Area Director Europe
R.A.M. Schinagl, Area Director Netherlands
M.W. Roelofs, Area Director America & Africa
M. Smouter, Area Director Middle East, Asia & Australia

Staff Directors

I.F.R. Daemen, Staff Director Estimating & Engineering
J. de Jong, Staff Director Ship Management Department
J.D. Knoester, Staff Director Personnel & Organisation
A.J. Kroezen, Staff Director Finance & Control
J.M. Kwakernaak, Staff Director Procurement
A. van de Minkelis, Staff Director QHSE